Virtuous

 
Her price is far above rubies. 
That’s the psalmist saying that a true virtuous woman is priceless. Because she is. She’s the sort of woman who you want to be (trust me). Even if all that housework doesn’t exactly sound appealing…her family rises up and calls her blessed. Her works are known throughout the city. (Or county; wherever you live). She’s known for being honest and just. Her word is law in her house, and her family is never afraid because they know Mom’s got this. 

Ok, so let’s say you’re like 14, like me. You say, “But I can’t be the virtuous woman. I don’t even have a boyfriend.” (And if you’re 14 and do have a boyfriend, I mean no offence but all I can say is…hm.)

Well, my dear Girl-reading-my-blog, virtue starts at home. If you can’t be good and helpful at home you’ll have a hard time working hard in your future home. It sounds harsh and believe me, it hurts me too. My own finger points back at me as I write. 😊 

A good resource to read on the topic of virtue is Noble Girlhood: Becoming a Daughter of Victory and Virtue by Tiffany M. Schlichter. To read my review of the book, check out my blog: 

Gsusluvsu.wordpress.com

The post is entitled Book Review: Noble Girlhood. 

So. Back to virtue. According to the New Oxford American Dictionary, virtue is ‘behavior showing high moral standards’; definition two is ‘a quality considered morally good or desirable in a person.’ Would you consider your actions when your parents aren’t around to be virtuous? Can non-Christians tell there’s something different about you? Do you show high moral standards? As in, “Drugs?! Um, NO!” Or sometimes it’s more like, “Guys, that’s really not funny.” Not being impressed by dirty jokes and not changing your moral standards no matter who you’re with is hard. Standing for God is worth it, though. 

Proverbs 31:10-30 

My favourite verse in this passage is: Proverbs 31:30 KJVS

[30] Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the Lord , she shall be praised.

She shall be praised. Not for her beauty but for her virtue. 

Bring the virtuous woman back to life. She’s missing from the modern world. Go be her. 

Written by Tabitha; photo by Jaden

One thought on “Virtuous

Leave a Reply

