Modesty

  
Proverbs 31:30 Charm is deceitful, beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord shall be praised. 

Ok, so there are more then a handful of verses in the Bible about modesty. 

(1 Timothy 2:9 is also a great one)

Alright girls, time to talk clothes. 

I’m not much of a shopper–when it comes to fashion, for me it’s mostly a tee shirt and some jeans. And if you see me in a skirt, it’s gotta be a holiday. And if I’m in a dress? Well, prepare yourself. Something is happening. 
As you can tell I’m a pretty laid back girl when it comes to these sort of things. Ok, I’m going to tell you something that may shock you…. Are you ready?

I am a Christian. 

No, I don’t wear skirts down to the floor and I don’t wear long sleeves all. The. Time. but just because some people choose to dress like that, it doesn’t mean that all Christian girls dress like that. And that’s ok!

And if you’re a girl who dresses like that– that’s perfectly fine. I totally respect your decision; there’s nothing wrong with that at all, no matter how people stare or the questions they ask. 

I personally am not that kind of dresser; but that does NOT mean I’m immodest. 

Modesty does not mean covering up every inch of skin, it’s about people being able to look at us girls and be able to see God; in our actions, words, and clothes. One of my favourite books is called 10 Things for Teen Girls by Kate Conner. She has some wonderful quotes and thoughts on modesty; one of my favourites is this: “The inside matters when you’re looking for lasting beauty. But the outside matters when you’re looking for a job.” 

Yep. She goes on to say that one way of looking at modesty is like this…

Basically, people judge you by what you wear. If you dress like a hippie people will think you’re a hippie. If you dress like a tomboy people will think you’re a tomboy. If you dress like a princess people will think you’re a princess. You get the point. So what do you want people to think about you? If you want them to think you’re a Christian–if you want them to see Jesus in you (and trust me, YOU DO)–then you shouldn’t wear tops with necklines that come down to your belly button and up to your chest. You shouldn’t wear dresses that DON’T COVER YOUR BUM. 

That is modesty–honouring Christ with the way you dress. 

Written by Tabitha and Jaden; photo by Tabitha

Leave a Reply

