God–who is He really?

I texted my friend Grace in a panic last Thursday. “What should I do for this Monday’s blog post?” I freaked out. 

“What have you done so far?” she replied. 

“…nothing,” I said. 

Pause. 

“Hang on I’m coming over,” she said. 

Ten minutes later, she was sitting in my favourite reading chair strumming my ukulele. (She is a GREAT uke player, by the way.) 

“So,” she said. “Down to business.”

I told her the last couple of posts I’d done, and she strummed a thoughtful E minor. 

“Have you ever done a post about God?” she asked. 

I was somewhat taken aback. ALL of our posts are about God!

“I don’t know…what do you mean?”

“Like, a post about God.”

I thought about it some more. And the more I thought, the more I realised that Grace is a genius. Most of our posts so far have been about Christians and God. But none just about who God is. 

Of course, that’s a hard question, one that philosophers and scholars have been scratching their heads about for thousands of years. To answer that question, maybe we should take a look at who God says he is, instead of who man says God is. (Because let’s face it, man’s opinion is always screwed up.)

I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the place of slavery. (Exodus 20:2, HCSB)

God replied to Moses, โ€œI AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: I AM has sent me to you.โ€ (Exodus 3:14, HCSB)

(The following is a statement from all of Israel.)

You alone are Yahweh.

You created the heavens,

the highest heavens with all their host,

the earth and all that is on it,

the seas and all that is in them.

You give life to all of them,

and the heavenly host worships You. (Nehemiah 9:6, HCSB)

Jesus told him, โ€œI am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6, HCSB)

(The following is Jesus speaking.) 

Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father is in Me. Otherwise, believe because of the works themselves. (John 14:11, HCSB) 

So what have we learned from this, children? (SORRY! I meant wordpressers!! I’ve been helping with kids at church…*)

Well, we learned that God is the Lord our God. He’s the God who performed the miracles which brought the Israelites out of slavery, all those decades ago. (Yep, same God.) 

This same God is the great I Am, as he told Moses prior to leading the Israelites out of Egypt. 

In Nehemiah (among other Biblical books), we learn that God is the Creator. He made fish of the sea, birds of the air, and the heavens and angels, who worship him continually. 

Jesus himself states in one of the most famous verses ever that he is the way, the truth, and the life. He is the only way to heaven. He is the only true God and the only thing worthy of your worship. 

And in the last verse I mentioned, Jesus states that he and the Father (God) are one. This is a hugely important verse. Some religions don’t really go for the whole trinity thing. They think there is a God, and a Jesus, and probably a Holy Spirit. But it’s hard to imagine such distinct beings as the same being. And yet different. AUGH. It’s too confusing. 

So that’s my post. I could have gone into detail about false gods and modern idols. That was Grace’s suggestion. And I probably will another week. But for this week, let’s just focus on Who God is. 

*Speaking of helping with kids, I’m doing vacation bible school music this year. One song goes like this:

Who is the Lord?

Great and mighty!

Who is the Lord?

My creator!

Who is the Lord?

Lord of everything!

Mighty to be praised!

How cool! The one week I ask “who is the Lord?” I end up learning a children’s song that gives me the answer!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

(Copyright 2016 Matt Huesmann Music. From Surf Shack VBS: Catch the wave of God’s amazing love! From Cokesbury VBS.) 

๏ฟผ

The one holding the ukulele is my friend Grace. While Jaden is in Peru, Grace is keeping me sane. (Thanks girl!)

The crazy one in the background who couldn’t think of a cool pose and thus just threw her hands in the air is me. 

Post by Tabitha; post idea by Grace. Selfie taken by Grace.  

6 thoughts on “God–who is He really?

  1. Just came across this website as I was researching for my own! Found this article really interesting. Thank you
    (If you ever want to check out my website just look up ojnotes.co.uk) thanks again,
    Josh ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much! I apologise for not getting back with you sooner. I’m glad you enjoyed our post. We post a new article every Monday. I’ll definitely check out your website also. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  2. You could definitely see your skills in the article you write.

    The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they
    believe. All the time go after your heart.

    Like

    1. Thank you! That is a great compliment to us. We will try. ๐Ÿ™‚ I (Tabitha) aspire to be a writer or editor, and I write every other week’ post and then edit Jaden’s posts. The blog has been a good place to practice and gain experience. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Sorry for the delay in replying. Somehow your comment ended up in my spam.

      Like

Leave a Reply

