Big

If you were raised like me, in a Christian home, you are probably very familiar with Veggie Tales. Recently I had a flashback. I got to watch Jonah: A VeggieTales Movie, the best animated film of all time, and a couple weeks later, I re-watched the very first VeggieTales episode ever. You know it—Where’s God When I’m S-scared? released in December 1993. Aside from the Silly Song, “Everybody’s got a water buffalo,” which I still sing daily, the most memorable song of the show is “God is Bigger.” It is sung by Junior Asparagus, Bob the Tomato, and Larry the Cucumber. The setting is Junior’s bedroom. He is frightened because of this scary movie that he saw earlier….

ANYWAY, you’ll just have to watch the show for yourself. My point is, “God is Bigger” has lyrics that we should remember every day.

God is bigger than the boogie man.
He’s bigger than Godzilla or the monsters on TV.
Oh, God is bigger than the boogie man,
And he’s watching out for you and me.*

Besides, the tune is catchy and classic Veggie Tales-style. Like, very classic.

Oh but wait! There’s more! Veggie Tales also did a song called “My God is so Big,” this one sung by Mr. Lunt on the Sunday School CD. It’s actually a classic Sunday School song. This is the part I remember singing as a wee little bairn.

My God is so big, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do
My God is so big, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do

The mountains are His, the rivers are His
The stars are His handiwork too
My God is so big, so strong and so mighty
There’s nothing my God cannot do, hey, hey! **

While this may just feel like a Veggie Tales history lesson or a walk down memory lane, it’s actually more than that. Take a moment and try to read the lyrics without hearing the catchy tune or Mr. Lunt’s raspy New Jersey accent.

My God is so big, so strong and SO MIGHTY, there’s NOTHING my God cannot do!

That means that all those things you think you can’t do—God can. He’s bigger than the boogie man. He’s bigger than Godzilla. He’s bigger than the monsters on TV. The mountains and rivers are His. The stars are his handiwork! There is nothing He can’t do. We have this great big God and guess what—He’s on our side. He’s watching out for you and me!

Think about that!

God is watching out for you. How many unseen disasters were averted this past week because God was watching out for you? How many will be this week? You’ll never know, because God was watching out for you. That great big God, the king of the world, has been making sure that you’re ok.

How cool is that!

veggie tales scared

post and drawing by Tabitha

*Read more here

**Read more here

One thought on “Big

Leave a Reply

