What’s a Bible Study?

“You should come to my Bible study sometime,” I said.  “It’s really interesting.  You might like it.”

I will never forget what my friend said next.  “What’s a Bible study?”

I blinked.  Having grown up in the church (literally), I had never even thought of that.  There are people out there–in this first-world country–who don’t know what a Bible study is.  They didn’t tell me how to deal with that in my Josh McDowell books.  I struggled to explain.

“Well, it’s like a…a bunch of people get together and sometimes we go through a story from the Bible…and we look at it a little more in-depth?  You know?  Like…we study the Bible.  And how it actually relates to us in real life.  You should come.”

I still don’t think he understood, but he came to the next Bible study.

So what is a Bible study?

Like I do with any other question, I googled it.  And Wikipedia was happy to help.

“In Christianity, Bible study is the study of the Bible by ordinary people as a personal religious or spiritual practice,” Wikipedia said helpfully.  “The association of Bible study and prayer is an important one. Christians do not merely study the Bible as an academic discipline, but with the desire to know God better. Therefore, they frequently pray that God will give them understanding of the passage being studied. They also consider it necessary to consider what they read with an attitude of respect, rather than the critical attitude which is frequently followed in formal study. To them, the Bible is not just a sacred book, but is the very Word of God, that is, a message from God which has direct relevance to their daily lives.”

Never before has Wikipedia helped me so much with my own religion.

Once I got the definition out of the way, I thought, “Ok, so that’s what a Bible study is.  It didn’t mention anything about pizza, but maybe pizza is specific to youth groups.”  And then I started thinking about my youth group.  We’re doing a study right now called Foundations by Ken Ham.  I was asked to lead a discussion next month (0.0) and I’ve been trying to figure out a topic (any suggestions?  Comment below!).  I wondered where I’d be without my youth group.  I mean, Wednesday evenings would suck.  I even free pizza out of it.  I’ve actually learned stuff in youth, and like I said, I’ve been in church all my life so I thought I already knew everything.  And then I realized that none of this would be possible without my youth leaders!

October is traditionally pastor appreciation month, but October 21 was Youth Leader Appreciation Day.  I’m a little late, but thank you to all the youth leaders and pastors.  You are the unsung church heroes.

As I write this, I’m listening to one of my favorite songs by the Newsboys, “That’s How You Change the World.”  You are changing the world one kid at a time.  Thank you all!

I challenge you to either find a great youth group to attend or invite an unchurched friend to youth.  You could be changing the world.

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-3-16-26-pmThanks guys!  See you later!

Post and screenshot by Tabitha

Leave a Reply

