3 Practical Questions to Ask Yourself When Studying Scripture

Sorry, but I don’t really know how to study Scripture.  This Wednesday, my youth leader is supposed to lead a little workshop on study habits.  If I learn anything amazing, I’ll share it with you guys.

ask us questions!

However, this past week my mother came across these three questions in her Sunday school lesson.  After reading the Scripture passage, you should ask yourself these questions.  I’ll show them to you now.

  1. What does this passage teach concerning God’s will for a holy life?
  2. How does my life measure up to that Scripture?  Specifically, where and how do I fall short?  (Be specific; don’t generalize.)
  3. What definite steps of action do I need to take to obey?

“The most important part of this process is the specific application of the Scripture to specific life situations,” the book continues.  “We are prone to vagueness at this point because commitment to specific actions makes us uncomfortable.”

The lesson is taken from The Pursuit of Holiness by Jerry Bridges.

Sorry this is a short post, but I hope you copy those questions somewhere and keep it with your Bible.  When you study, ask yourself these questions and I’ll do the same.  Leave me any comments letting me know what you think.  Do you have any study habits, for Scripture or school?  I’d LOVE to hear them.  I’m trying to figure out how to study, myself.  I’d super appreciate any feedback.

See ya in a couple weeks!

Post by Tabitha.  Taken from The Pursuit of Holiness by Jerry Bridges.  Photo from pexels.com.

One thought on “3 Practical Questions to Ask Yourself When Studying Scripture

Leave a Reply

