What about Suicide?

Suicide is an amazingly hard topic to write about. Chances are, someone you know is suicidal, and that truth breaks my heart.  My heart breaks for those who are suicidal and those who love someone who is.  It’s a hard topic, yes, but I want to talk about it because otherwise, it will never get talked about.

You never, ever know what someone is going through. You don’t know how they feel about themselves, you don’t know how other people think of them, you don’t know what’s going on in their home or in their head.

If you love someone, you need to let them know. I know an amazing human being who constantly compliments people and tells them how awesome they are, and it’s made my day and given me hope so many times. Imagine what a difference you could make in someone’s life, even without knowing it, just through a simple compliment. Sometimes, that’s all it takes to make someone smile.

Because sometimes, you don’t know what’s happening.  And then it happens, and then you wonder what you could have done and if you could have prevented it by being a better friend.  And you will never know, but you can take the knowledge that you don’t know, and you can love on the people you still have.  You can be that friend to them.

I want to tell you a story.

I went on a mission trip two years ago to Pittsburgh.  I was assigned to a crew where I didn’t know anybody, but I had a great time.  My youth leader led another, different, crew, comprised mostly of people he didn’t know.  (I heard this story later…I wasn’t there.)  There was a boy from Georgia on his crew–I’m not going to say his name, so let’s just call him Drew.  This boy was about 16 at the time.  According to my youth leader, he was bubbly, friendly, outgoing, hardworking, a handful…you name it.  The first thing Drew did when he met my youth leader was hug him.

Last Sunday (yesterday), we learned that Drew died.

“Oh my gosh,” I said.  “What happened?”

“His girlfriend broke up with him and he shot and killed himself,” said my youth leader.

My youth leader is a police officer.  He deals with this kind of stuff all the time.  But it still broke him.  This 18 year old boy was gone.  Could my youth group have prevented it?  Probably not.  But the questions were left in our heads.  The grief and confusion was still there.

We have to trust that God is still in control, now more than ever.

You are not alone.

I’m sorry if this post is long or confusing.  I just really, really feel like it needs to be written.

Post by Tabitha, photos from Pinterest

Leave a Reply

