Who Do You Find Your Worth In?

God: You’re beautiful.

Me: Yeah whatever.

Friend: You’re beautiful.

Me: OMG I LOVE YOU SO MUCH ARE YOU SERIOUS YOU ARE SO SWEET

Unfortunately, the above scenario occurs all too often in my life.  I’ve known all along that God thinks I’m beautiful.  But the other day, my friend told me I was beautiful, and I haven’t stopped thinking about it since.  It fills me with such a glow just to know that someone likes me.  Meanwhile, God is probably looking at me like, “UM, EXCUSE ME.  I’ve been saying that this whole time.”

It boils down to which opinion I find my validity in: God’s or man’s.  Do I look to what God says to find my worth, or do I look to what man says to find my worth?  I know which one I SHOULD be looking to.  But….I’ll admit that I don’t.

Does anyone else have this problem?  I know that I should be listening to God’s opinion about me, not my friends’.  And yet, I find myself falling back.  Talking to my friends for reassurance.  Looking to the media for reassurance.  Am I beautiful?  Am I agreeable?  Am I passable?  I shouldn’t be so concerned about my outward beauty in the first place.  There’s nothing wrong with looking nice, but….1 Peter 3:3-4 says,  “It is not fancy hair, gold jewelry, or fine clothes that should make you beautiful.  No, your beauty should come from within you—the beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit that will never be destroyed and is very precious to God.”  Those are some of my favorite verses.

We started this blog to remind girls that God says they’re beautiful, and so often as I write these posts I feel my finger pointing back at me.  This post is A) me showing you that I am also human and B) me inviting you to encourage other people that they’re beautiful.

Thank you for reading.  You are priceless!

Post and photo by Tabitha.  Jaden will write a sort of sequel to this post next week, so stick around for that!img_3919

One thought on “Who Do You Find Your Worth In?

Leave a Reply

