Shine (Remix)

Have you heard of the Newsboys? If you haven’t, you just need to stop reading this right now and go look up their songs, biography, and backstory. I practically know the band by name. There’s Michael Tate, the lead singer, formerly of DC Talk, Jeff Frankenstein, the AWESOME keyboardist, and the EPIC DUNCAN PHILIPS, the world-famous Australian drummer. I’m pretty sure I left out a band member or two. Sorry guys. I love you too. I just don’t know your names.

Well anyway, the reason I brought up the Newsboys is because way back in the day (1994, to be exact), back when the lead singer was still the Aussie John James, they came out with a song called “Shine.”

It’s a really cool song with a fun, funky, bright beat. And I’m going to sing the chorus for you. Here goes.

Shine–make ’em wonder what you got,

Make ’em wish that they were not

On the outside lookin’ bored.

Shine! Let it shine before all men,

Let ’em see good works and then,

Let it glorify the Lord.

Shine!

When Jaden told me that it was my turn to write a post, and that I should do Shine, my mind immediately went to that song. I mean, I basically don’t have to even write a whole post. Not with that awesome Newsboys chorus. But IF YOU REALLY WANT ME TO, and since I appreciate y’all SO MUCH, I will even give you a Bible verse or two to support the song.

Matthew 5:16 KJV

[16] Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.

John 1:5 KJV

[5] And the light shineth in darkness; and the darkness comprehended it not.

And now here’s possibly the most famous one of all:

Philippians 2:15 KJV

[15] That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world;

I even attended a conference last winter based on that verse.  (I got a cool glow in the dark t shirt.)  And as I looked at the t shirt I thought:

  1. This is a really cool shirt.
  2. It fits me.
  3. IT GLOWS IN THE DARK
  4. So should I……………

Yep. I don’t mean it creepily. I’m just saying, we’re supposed to shine in the world’s darkness. We’re supposed to glow in the dark.

(Actually I’m not the first person to think of that. Jason Gray has a song called “Glow in the Dark.”)

So anyway, that’s my challenge. Shine like a star! Listen to the Newsboys! And glow in the dark!

Thanks guys, as always, like/comment/follow! 😄

Leave a Reply

